Running · summer · weddings

June: It’s the little things.

I have just over three weeks until my wedding, and somehow, the list of things to do keeps growing instead of shrinking. I swear, for every one thing I cross off, two more things pop up to take its place.

But I know, if the past six months are any indication, these last weeks will pass in the blink of an eye, everything will manage to work out, and before I know it, I’ll be standing in front of friends and family, exchanging vows with an extraordinary man.

Which seems like a great reason to stop the frenetic scrambling for just a moment and recognize something important:

It’s June!

If you’ve been following my blog for a year or more, you’ll know that I love June. True, it’s my birthday month, but I love it for more than that. I love it because where I come from, that’s when school ends and summer vacation starts. I love it because that’s when the heat of summertime, even if it’s been dawdling through May, finally plops itself right on the front porch, wagging its tail. I love it because its full moon is called the Strawberry Moon.

It’s June!

I have a tradition that I started a couple years back called Joyful June, where I take time out every day to do something that brings me joy, even it’s just for a few seconds.

What brings you joy this time of year? Is it the first outing of the season to a nearby ice cream shop? Is it going to watch a baseball game? Is it those first few slurps of ice-cold water after a hot run? Or is it the small yet delightful convenience of going out and knowing that you won’t need to bring a jacket, even at night?

If you have something big going on in your life, it’s vital, from a mental health standpoint, to remember these things. They are anchor points.

We’ve all heard “Don’t sweat the small stuff,” and that statement is true when it comes to petty grievances – but it doesn’t mean we should forget the small stuff entirely!

It’s easy to get so wrapped up in the big stuff that it’s all we think about and all we’re aiming for. Before we know it, sure, we’ve gained a lovely wedding, or new house, or great job…but we’ve lost weeks, or months, or a year.

The small stuff makes us who we are. The small stuff is life.

This month, I’m going to look for joy in the small stuff. I figure if I can get good at that, then when all the small stuff comes to fruition in something big…well, I can’t even imagine.

What small stuff brings you joy this time of year?

3 thoughts on “June: It’s the little things.

  1. This is such a great reminder–we’re three months out from our wedding, and I’m already feeling the crunch! Some small things that bring me joy this time of year: seeing bright orange day lilies in bloom, walking or running alongside the river, watching a cat roll luxuriously in a spot of sun. Self, take note!

  2. Such a great post. I am also a big fan of June and think one of my favourite things is gardening: getting all the flower beds weeded and freshly mulched and getting seedlings ready for planting in the veggie gardening. Something very, very fulfilling about spending all weekend in the dirt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

