Family · relationships · Running

A Year in the Life

I turn 34 in less than a week.

My oh my what a difference a year makes.

I celebrated my 33rd birthday by going camping with Robin Hood and a group of friends, and we had a blast – so much so that we’re going back to that site for another camping trip next month.

Little did I know that it would mark the beginning of such an eventful year. At that time, I still lived in the apartment I had called home since February of 2007, although Robin Hood and I were making plans to move in together. I had run a marathon two months prior. I had met Robin Hood’s parents, but he hadn’t met mine. I had no pets, and the biggest thing on my horizon was…well…probably what I would do the next weekend.

Fast-forward 365 days. Robin Hood and I now live together (although moving seven years’ worth of stuff out of an apartment is NOT an easy task, nor is combining two furnished homes into one. All I can say is thank God for dumpsters, Goodwill, and a certain guy going out of town for a long hunting weekend!).

Robin Hood has met not just my parents, but my entire family. And apparently he’s okay with them, because now, as most of you know, we’re engaged!

Wow. In just a little over two weeks, we’ll be married. MARRIED.

But that’s not the only big change! In addition to planning and eagerly anticipating our nuptials, we’ve also gone and gotten ourselves a puppy. A PUPPY! (Puppies deserve all caps, too). She’s a Redbone Coonhound, so theoretically she’ll be a good hunting buddy for Robin Hood and a good running buddy for me. No, we haven’t brought her home yet, because brand-new puppy + house full of wedding stuff + wedding stress = nothing good. We’ll bring her home after we get back from our honeymoon.

Oops. Pardon me while I add “buy puppy supplies” to my to-do list.

Oh, and I registered for another marathon: the Marine Corps! Only this time I, thinking ahead, registered with my new last name.

Not gonna lie. It felt a little weird. I guess I’ll just have to sign up for a lot more races to get myself acclimated to it. The things you’ve got to do…

33 has been one heck of a year. 34 has huge things in store for it, and the year will be launched in style (er, my style, that is), with a viewing of Jurassic World and a trip to the spa for a massage. I cannot WAIT for the weekend to start!

I have no idea what I’ll be writing about at this time next year, but you know what? I think I’m ready for it.

Bring on 34…and Happy Birthday to all the other June babies out there!

Last year's birthday photo. Who knew?
Last year’s birthday photo. Who knew?
3 thoughts on “A Year in the Life

Leave a Reply

