Albuquerque · Running · summer · vacation

The Most Wonderful Month of the Year

Bless my soul, it’s June!

As I’ve mentioned before on this blog, I love June. It’s especially delightful when it pops up from seemingly out of NOWHERE, like it did this year. I mean, wasn’t it just March?

The kids around here are all out of school now, and while I’m a little past the “Hooray, it’s summer vacation!!” age, I can appreciate the [finally] warmer weather. I can also appreciate the fact that said weather, though warmer, hasn’t quite hit the boiling temperatures that comprise a typical Albuquerque June. It makes the launch of this month even better.

Weather aside, it feels like June is one month-long celebration. Or at least one long exhale. 

Exhibit A: I hear today is National Donut Day. Donuts seem like a fantastic way to celebrate the beginning of summer vacation, don’t you think?? If not vacation, then you know, Friday.

Exhibit B: Global Running Day is coming up this week! I for one will be lacing up and trotting my pregnant self around the neighborhood for at least a couple of miles. I hope you do, too.

Exhibit C: Vacation! Robin Hood and I are heading to Florida for a family reunion this month. I can smell the salty air, hear the seagulls, and feel my pulse relaxing already. I can’t wait.

Exhibit D: My birthday! So far plans include going to see Wonder Woman and running a 5k. Actually…do I really need any other plans?

Exhibit E: Last but not least, Robin Hood and I will celebrate our 2nd anniversary later this month. We have no plans whatsoever thus far. We may just get take-out and sit around with our feet up, which, frankly, may be the perfect celebration.

Just thinking about it all puts a smile on my face.

Wherever you are, I hope your June is off to a pleasant start. I hope that for at least one day this month, you can shrug off routine, exhale, and reconnect with your “Hooray, it’s vacation!” self. And I know the season doesn’t officially begin for several weeks, but I’ll say it now: Happy Summer!

P.S. Thank you, THANK YOU, for all of your kind words on last week’s post. I am truly touched.

 

One thought on “The Most Wonderful Month of the Year

Leave a Reply

