New Year's · Running

New Year’s Eve 2016

First off: a very Happy Birthday to my friend Emily, and all you other New Year’s babies out there! Is there birthday cake with champagne-flavored frosting? There should be.

Now then.  How was everyone’s 2016?

The end of the year always lends itself to a certain amount of navel-gazing, or in my case (and maybe yours too), running shoe-gazing.

shoes

Running-wise, my 2016 wasn’t all that earth-shaking. I didn’t set any new PRs – I didn’t even race at all, with the exception of my family’s annual Christmas Day run around Lake Accotink. We may not wear race numbers, but it is timed, and there’s definitely a competitive spirit to it. This year’s run had extra excitement because the weather was beautiful, so there were more innocent bystanders than usual to weave around and bewilder. Good stuff!

Other than that, my running maintained a pretty even keel, and maybe that’s a good thing. When plenty other adventures are going on – moving, traveling, etc. – maybe it’s healthy to have a corner that’s just staying steady.

When I look ahead to 2017 (also known as tomorrow; good grief!) the crystal ball is hazy. Cloudy. Nebulous. All the adjectives similar to those. Robin Hood and I have a couple of trips planned, but otherwise, the year is filled with maybes, hopefullys, and probablys. Maybe I’ll run more races. Hopefully we’ll go hunting together. Probably lots of coffee will be consumed.

A growing New Year’s trend over the last few years has been to pick one word, whether a noun, verb, or adjective, and declare that your “theme word,” or “anthem word,” for the following year. It could be COURAGE. Or PATIENCE. Or RELAX.  The idea is to incorporate that word into your life on a regular basis, and then, at the end of that year, you look back and see how you’ve done. Or maybe if your word is RELAX, you just give a nice long exhale, and drink a beer.

Just guessing. I’ve never actually done the word thing before.

But this year, I’m going to give it a chance. I’m not a big resolution person, but there’s a particular word that’s been buzzing around inside my head for the past two or three days, and it keeps buzzing. I figure, if I let it out and write it down (in multiple places, in all caps), hopefully it will get out of my head and into the open where it could actually do some good.

The word is FAITH. Not because of George Michael’s passing (may he, his heavenly voice, and his unparalleled five o’clock shadow rest in peace), but because I need more of it in my life. It’s time I got to work on it.

Happy New Year 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve 2016

Leave a Reply

