Albuquerque · gratitude · weekending

Remembering to Say Thank You

I don’t know about you, but by the end of most Fridays, I’m ready for a big ol’ nap, followed by a glass of wine and an episode or two of Parks and Recreation, followed by another nap.

Today’s no exception. But rather than focus on things that make me tired, I’m going to focus on things that make me smile, and sing, and do little victory dances in the kitchen while the dog cocks her head in bewilderment.

Here we go:

  • Fridays. Duh.
  • Dazzling full moons. The moon this morning caught me completely by surprise. On weekdays I take Ann for a walk before going to work, i.e. while it’s still dark. Today as I was shuffling (she was trotting perkily, harrumph) down our cul-de-sac, I was distracted by a light so bright that it was almost – almost – I looked up and there, regally enthroned amidst wispy, perfectly scattered clouds, was the moon. Glowing like God Himself used it for a lantern. I wanted to take a picture, but I didn’t have my phone and was busy wrangling Ann, who just wanted to walk/sniff everything. Silly thing. Full moons always put life in perspective for me.
  • The state fair. This is Fair Week, and although we went on Tuesday night, I want to go back this weekend. Tuesday, we ate delicious food and hung out with friends, but didn’t see any “fair stuff” like the livestock, arts and crafts, 4-H exhibits, etc. I love this stuff! Not to mention the nigh-unparalleled people-watching that the fair offers. And…yeah…I may have a hankering to sample more fair food. What can I say? The aroma of funnel cake has a way of lingering in my nostrils.

fair1

  • Cooler weather. The afternoons still get pretty warm, but the season is noticeably starting to change, which makes ALL outdoor activities, from walking to running to yard work to riding a Ferris wheel, downright lovely.
  • Weddings! Our friends Shannon and Dustin are getting married tomorrow! They’re two of the greatest people ever, and the event is sure to be beautiful and spectacularly fun. Will I cry? Probably. Will I spill food on my dress? Maybe. Will I dance and wave my hands like I just don’t care? Definitely. Wherever you are tomorrow night, raise a glass to the happy couple as they embark on the nutty, wonderful adventure that is marriage.
  • My husband. To my own partner in this nutty, wonderful adventure that is marriage, I love you even more than I love fried Snickers bars.

What are you thankful for this weekend?

fair2

One thought on “Remembering to Say Thank You

Leave a Reply

