Albuquerque · Fitness · marathons · Running

Motivation and the Long Arm of the Boston Marathon

Today I went for my first run in over a week. Why the hiatus? Well, let’s just say it involved a nice phlegmy cough that left me with energy for little more than slumping on the couch and finally learning the appeal of watching Netflix for hours.

Speaking of Netflix, if you haven’t yet watched The Barkley Marathons, check it out. It’s entertaining. Insane, but entertaining.

My run today was okay – mainly I relished the fact of just being out there, putting one foot in front of the other. A few things motivated me to get out the door:

  • I felt reasonably confident that the run wouldn’t be repeatedly interrupted by a hacking cough monster (me). This proved more or less true – hooray for the power of rest!
  • The air was just so pretty today. Go ahead, think I’m crazy, but it’s true. The air itself was pretty. Pollen or no pollen, it was springtime at its finest.

And last but not least:

  • The BOSTON MARATHON.

If you have your finger…or just a fingernail, at all on the pulse of the running world, you know that the Boston Marathon is on Monday. Pictures of the finish line in all its grandeur are circulating, social media is in a tizzy, and if you’re flying anywhere in the U.S. tomorrow, probably at least one person on your flight is Boston-bound.

The last time I ran Boston was in 2014, but I still feel it. If you’ve run the race even once, or if you are aching for the chance to run it, you hear those drums beating. Oh yes. You feel them, practically in your gut. And there’s an urge to do something about it.

I don’t feel particularly inclined to go out and tackle 26.2 miles at this moment, but darn if I can’t lace up and cover a couple loops around my neighborhood.

So that’s what I did. And I’ll run some more this weekend. I’ll be passing xeriscaped lawns, but I’ll be visualizing the armada of school buses, the camps at Hopkinton, the hills of Newton, the Hereford/Boylston corner, and all the rest. And I’ll bet you a bottle of Samuel Adams’ 26.2 Brew that my pace will pick up a little.

Here’s to motivation, however it manifests.

And to everyone running Boston, good luck and have fun!

 

IMG_2507

 

3 thoughts on “Motivation and the Long Arm of the Boston Marathon

  1. Glad you feel better! How funny, I JUST last week watched The Barkley Marathons….what a great documentary! Wasn’t it terrific?? Crazy concept for a “race”. really enjoyed it and I too highly recommend watching it! cheers!

  2. You are so right! Short of the Olympics, the Boston Marathon is the Holy Grail of running for most of us. And if you have run it once, it does get in your blood – the tradition, the course, the spectators, the overall spectacle. There is nothing like it. Boston strong!

Leave a Reply

