Albuquerque · Fitness · religion · Running · Spring

Lessons From a Blustery Day

In Albuquerque, you know it’s truly springtime when there are blossoms all over…the ground.

The wind. The wind has arrived.

I don’t mean a brisk, refreshing breeze. This is the kind of wind that is the very definition of “blustery.” It whips blossoms off trees, it knocks over trash cans like they were toys, and it makes going for a run one interesting endeavor.

It also gets me to thinking about blustery days in general. And, for whatever reason, I can’t hear (or think) “blustery” without thinking about Winnie the Pooh. Remember his blustery days? Add to this the fact that Robin Hood mentioned The Tao of Pooh in conversation the other day, and voila, here I am listening to The Tao of Pooh via my Audible app during my commute. Why am I listening to it instead of reading it? Because I’m already reading Stephen King’s The Long Walk.

Anyway.

If you’ve never read or listened to The Tao of Pooh, I really recommend it. Essentially, the narrator of the book (never identified, at least not so far in my listening) explains Taoism to Pooh. Yes, Pooh’s friends from the Hundred Acre Wood make appearances, and yes, Taoism is actually explained. It’s a wonderful balance of education and fun.

On yesterday’s drive to work, amidst traffic and early-morning drowsiness, two things that Mr. Narrator said struck a chord with me:

  1. Being simple-minded does not equal being stupid.
  2. Life is fun.

To me, that means take as much pleasure as you can in the little things, and don’t take life so seriously. So, since then, I’ve been focusing more on that.

For example, the moon. Yup, just that big ol’ thing that holds court in the sky each and every night that most of us (myself included) take for granted. Did you see how bright it was this week? It was like a huge celestial high-wattage lantern. I made myself stop, several times, just to look at it and appreciate it.

The little things.

Like pausing during the busy morning routine to enjoy the sound of the dog happily chowing down on her breakfast.

Or at the end of the day, looking at the dirty dishes in the sink, shrugging, and choosing to wind down with a great book instead.

Or, as I stagger-run around the neighborhood on a particularly blustery day, just letting go and laughing at myself for being out in this crazy weather. And relishing every step.

Because you just never know what a blustery day will do for you.

 

Leave a Reply

