Fitness · Running · Spring

On Spring and First Loves

IMG_2418 (1)

 

The trees in my neighborhood are blossoming! Birds are twittering non-stop (without needing any hashtags, thank you very much) and warm weather has dog-walkers, cyclists, runners, and other outdoor-minded citizens popping up like weeds.

Spring may not officially be here, but she’s peering around the corner pretty indiscreetly.

Tennyson wrote, “In the Spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love.” Well, I’m no young man, and I’m already blessed by abundant love, but these days I’m thinking about my very first love: running.

My running hasn’t been very exciting lately. I know that in running, as in any other relationship [after more than 20 years, I can safely say that yes, I have a relationship with running], there are peaks and valleys and plateaus. The plateaus can be frustrating, but they can also be comforting. That’s the case with this current one.

Still, a good relationship is a considerate one; thus, a love note is in order. To remind myself why I love running, and to show my first love a little appreciation.

Dear Running:

I love that you are always there, every day, in all kinds of weather.

I love that you don’t ask anything of me other than my presence.

I love the people you’ve introduced me to.

I love that I can leave you for a few days or a few months and you don’t mind at all.

I love how well you’ve helped me get to know my neighborhoods, and myself.

I love that I can come to you in every kind of mood, from sad to smiling to snarling, and you are okay with it.

I love that you’ve shown me how to respect my body for what it can do, not for what it looks like.

I love that you are enjoyable both one-on-one and in a group.

I love that you stimulate my creativity.

I love that you have brought me closer to my husband…and our dog.

I love how you help me to appreciate each and every season.

I love your power to bring people together.

I love your ability to soothe one day and evoke raw, primal emotion the next.

I love that you don’t have a preferred age, body type, financial status, or any of that.

I love how you make every food and beverage taste better.

I love that any speed is fine with you.

I love the self-worth you’ve taught me…and your reminders not to take myself too seriously.

 

I’m probably forgetting a few.

Here’s to warmer weather, blossoming trees, and thoughts of love.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “On Spring and First Loves

  1. Great letter! I should do something similar, although it might come especially handy when I most need the reminders: mid winter and sluggish summer.

    Wow that’s incredible that you’ve been running for 20 years! No wonder you’re so speedy 🙂

  2. I love why you love running! It reminded me of the reasons I enjoy to run, even though sometimes I hate it as I’m doing it and wonder why I ever started. I can’t wait for some great spring runs! Hope you have good ones too!

Leave a Reply

