Leap Year · Running · winter

Leap!

I think I’m experiencing delayed onset hibernation syndrome.

Maybe it has something to do with the weather, which suddenly got much colder and drearier after a week of lovely, spring-like conditions. I know, I know, it’s SUPPOSED to be cold and dreary this time of year, but that doesn’t make it any easier.

Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that Robin Hood and I have been scurrying around like mice at a cheese festival (Mmmm. Cheese festivals…) due to recent adventures in real estate. More on that in a future post.

Whatever the reason, I have strong cravings this week to make pot pie, listen to my classical piano Pandora station (it’s my “soothing music”), and curl up in a ball to read “Little Women” for the first time since…who knows? In other words, to hibernate as much as a gainfully-employed human adult can.

NOTE: If you’ve never read “Little Women,” or if you haven’t read it since who knows, please get yourself a copy and read it! I’ve never sufficiently appreciated this book. I mean, just look at this passage:

“My dear girls, I am ambitious for you, but not to have you make a dash in the world – marry rich men merely because they are rich, or have splendid houses, which are not homes because love is wanting. Money is a needful and precious thing – and, when well used, a noble thing – but I never want you to think it is the first or only prize to strive for. I’d rather see you poor men’s wives, if you were happy, beloved, contented, than queens on thrones, without self-respect and peace.”

I could just sink into Louisa May Alcott’s writing like a bubble bath.

But in the midst of all this somnolence, there’s a silver lining: Leap Day!

I feel a little bad for Leap Day. It’s not officially a holiday; I’m pretty sure no one gets to stay home from work or school on February 29. But it deserves to be! It only happens once every four years! Doesn’t it deserve celebration, at least on a small scale?

Admittedly, I haven’t historically done a very good job of celebrating Leap Day. I think the most exciting thing I ever did on February 29 was to run my first marathon (Leap Day 2004!), but that was just a coincidence. The marathon would have happened leap year or not.

I want this year to be different. After all, how often is there an extra 24 hours to work/play/live with? Maybe I’ll bake a cake. Or call a friend just to chat. Or shake off my familiar, borderline-dull running routes and try a new one.

What will you do?

If you’re feeling delayed onset hibernation syndrome too, let’s do this together. Let’s hold each other accountable, and let’s give ourselves a jump start by taking a leap on Leap Day.

One thought on “Leap!

  1. Little Women is my all time favorite book! I reread it again last summer and was also struck by Marme’s wisdom. Great idea for doing something special for Leap Day!

Leave a Reply

