New Year · Running

Careening Across the Finish Line of 2015


2015.

My God. What a surreal, glorious, life-changing year it’s been.

On New Year’s Eve last year, I had no idea — no idea — how much my life was about to change. And from the moment when the clock struck midnight right up to now, as I’m writing this, I’ve felt like I’ve been tumbling down the proverbial rabbit hole. Only without the scary parts.

Okay, there have been some scary parts. But mostly great parts.

I’ve been trying to reflect on everything this week, to let it all sink in. I figured this would be an opportune time to do it, since Robin Hood and Ann* have been off hunting (puppy’s first hunting trip! Sniff! She’s growing up!) and the homestead is quieter than usual.

But then I decided to finally find homes for the wedding gifts that have been patiently waiting in our guest room (does this tell you what kind of year it’s been?). So quiet, indoor reflection didn’t work.

Then I thought, I’ll go on a lovely meditative run, during which I’ll bid a graceful adieu to 2015 and spiritually prepare myself for 2016! It’ll be straight out of Runner’s World!

But that didn’t go according to plan, either. I went for a run, but instead of taking it easy, my legs informed me that they wanted a hill workout. Then I had to deal with a minor wardrobe malfunction. Sigh.

I did, however, catch several glimpses of an absolutely beautiful sunset. So there was that.

I’m starting to think that this year is going to defy “sinking in.” Or at least any speedy sinking in that happens just because I want it to. 2015 will, I believe, require a slower, longer absorption process for me. Kind of like the upside-down-wine-bottle-garden-watering trick. If you don’t know what that is, look it up. It’s fabulous.

And maybe that’s okay, the slower process. Maybe some years, whether they’re good or bad, aren’t meant to be digested, reviewed, and judged over the course of one evening, or a couple days.

Maybe the lessons and blessings of these “big years” take longer to sink in because they’re important ones. We just need to have faith in the process.

And always keep an eye out for beautiful sunsets.

Whatever kind of year you’ve had, I hope it’s coming to a peaceful close, and I wish you all a spectacular start to 2016!

*Speaking of redbone coonhounds, here is a brilliant blog post on the importance of Where the Red Fern Growshttp://charmingfarming.com/2015/10/10/10-reasons-every-boy-should-read-where-the-red-fern-grows/

**And speaking of great books, if you haven’t read American Wife by Taya Kyle (widow of Chris “American Sniper” Kyle), I HIGHLY recommend it. I can’t remember the last time I read a book in less than 24 hours, but I did it with this one.

image

8 thoughts on “Careening Across the Finish Line of 2015

  1. Happy New Year. I thought of you and Robin Hood today and smiled about the memory of last New Years Eve. I think i reconize that candle too!

  2. Thanks for the article on Where the Red Fern Grows.
    I imagine this was a crazy year, in one of the best ways! for you. A few big once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Thanks for the wish that this year ends peacefully. I hope it does for you, too.

  3. I read Where the Red Fern Grows in 5th grade, over 32 years ago. It must have really left an impression on me. I convinced my dad to buy two redbone hounds when I was 10 years old. I named the male “Red” and the female “Ann”! We have always had a redbone since. Our current redbone’s name is Daisy. thanks for the visit

    1. …the “Saddam caused 9/11” story that the right lapped up.WTF? That’s one of the dumbest things I’ve ever read. If we thought Saddam had been reonlpsibse for 9/11, we would have gone into Iraq first. Nimrod.

Leave a Reply

