Christmas · food · Running · Texas · Travel

‘Twas the Monday Before Christmas

The fudge has been made.

The peanut butter cup cookies have been made.

The pecan pie has been made.

The date pinwheels have been made…by my mom. And then carefully packaged and shipped to New Mexico. Yes, I DO have the best mom ever.

All of the above, in addition to the remains of a rum cake that my husband felt compelled to make [and who am I to stop him if he’s compelled to make a rum cake?], have been wrapped and made ready for our voyage to Ft. Worth.

As for me, I’m not quite ready yet. The last batch of dirty dishes still needs washing, and the dog needs to be walked, and…I can’t remember if I’ve packed my deodorant!

I’m taking a break. Right now. I invite you to do the same.

It is so, so easy in these last few days before Christmas to get caught up in frenzies (plural). Before we know it, we find ourselves hustling through each day and collapsing into bed at night without having taken any time to stop and relax. The stress builds until we’re sorely tempted to get aggressive with an empty roll of wrapping paper; until we’re slamming a peppermint mocha latte and calling it lunch; until we’re arguing over the best way to cut and store fudge.

It does not lead to anything good.

Stop.

Relax.

I went for a run today and started off at a fast clip, thinking about the things I needed to do after the run. But after a mile or so, I caught myself. I asked, what is the point of taking time for exercising in the fresh air if I’m just going to rush through this, too?

So I slowed down. I breathed more deeply. I thanked God for everything I could think of to be thankful for, and then I asked him to take the reins. Not to help, but to take control. Of me and my life and how I live it.

It’s not easy relinquishing control. I don’t know about you, but personally, I like control. I like certainty. I plan. I over-pack. This time of year, that can get downright exhausting. And I’m realizing more and more that it’s not just exhausting for me, but for those around me.

As we continue through the holidays, I’m going to let myself take more breaks. I’m going to let go of the reins and let some peace in, instead. I’m going to enjoy my exercise, my food, and most of all, my people.

I wish the same to all of you.

 

Fudge

Cookies

Pinwheels

 

 

5 thoughts on “‘Twas the Monday Before Christmas

  1. Amen to that! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Have a safe drive to Fort Worthand enjoy the holdiays. Love you both. Aunt Jean

Leave a Reply

