Christmas · pets · Running

Tidings of Comfort and Joy

Hey, how’s everyone’s December going?

For me, it is flying by, as usual, but [knock on wood] it hasn’t reached the red zone yet. You know the December red zone – when you find yourself at Target, or the grocery store, just staring blankly into space with eggnog stains on your shirt?

Again, knocking on wood.

I’ve got my Christmas shopping done. DONE! But I can’t really gloat, because those gifts still need to be a) wrapped and b) shipped…which involves placing a whole lot of faith and trust in the postal service.

This will be the first Christmas I’ve spent away from my parents’ house. I’ve got a hodge-podge of feelings about that. On one hand, I will miss my parents and siblings and nieces and nephews terribly. I’ve even asked my mom to mail me some of her mouth-watering date pinwheel cookies. On the other hand, I love my in-laws, and I’m excited to celebrate a Texas Christmas!

Robin Hood and I will be spending the holiday with his parents and brother – it’s only fair, since he came with me to Virginia last year (little did I know that he would propose less than a week later!). We’ll be bringing the puppy, and I’m sure we will all have a fabulous time. Will it snow? It’s possible — Fort Worth has been known to get some wacky weather.

In the meantime, like I said, December is just whirling by. We’ve got our Christmas decorations up and are in the process of getting cards mailed. I’m trying to think of a cool way to display the cards we receive. So far, the one card we’ve gotten is, uh, on the kitchen counter.

As for our Christmas tree? Yes, we’ve got one; yes, it’s artificial; and yes, we LOVE it. It’s the tree I had as an apartment-dwelling single lady, and we chose to dust it off and give it some attention this year. It stands about three feet tall and it is absolutely bursting with ornaments.

The ornaments are the main reason why we love it. Robin Hood and I go more for the “personalized” ornaments (e.g. an ornament from an alma mater, or one made by a 6-year-old) over matched-set ornaments. Nothing against the matched sets; I have seen gorgeous ones. They are classy and elegant-looking, no doubt about it, but…I dunno. I like my trees to have personality and stories.

And our puppy! Is she trying to eat all the decorations, you ask? Actually no, she’s been pretty good around them…I suspect because she’s been distracted. By the torment of The Cone.

Yep, she got spayed. On Black Friday. And no, we didn’t get a discount…but! The good news is that tomorrow we bring her in for her follow-up appointment, and if all goes well, that cone will come off for good. If she could sing Christmas carols, she would be singing ALL of them right now.

Amidst all of this excitement, I slip away for a run whenever I can. Because a) neighborhood Christmas lights, and b) if eggnog doesn’t soothe holiday stress, a good hill workout will.

Hope all of you are having a smooth December!

And I have a question: Are you a “personalized ornament” person or a “matched-set ornament” person?

 

xmas tree

4 thoughts on “Tidings of Comfort and Joy

  1. Because this is our 26th Christmas together (25th married & living together), we have built what I like to call a story in ornaments. We have loads of nice Lenox ones from the early years, then kid-centric ones, then other meaningful ones. We just did a ‘selfless elf’ charity run/walk ‘together’ (I ran, Lisa walked … bad joints and arthritis), and the finisher medals were really pretty and are now the latest personal ornaments on our tree.

  2. You know what Mark Twain said about Fort Worth, yes? “Fort Worth is where the West begins; Dallas is where the East peters out.” We’ll be in the middle — Grapevine — for Christmas. Christmas decorations? Oh, personalized.

Leave a Reply

