food · pets · relationships · Running · Thanksgiving

What Are You Thankful For?

Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope everyone is having a peaceful day. As you read this, there’s a chance I’m dotted with flour and bits of dough, while still wearing the clothes that I ran in earlier, but that’s okay. That means I’m happy.

Here are seven things for which I’m giving thanks, in no particular order:

1) Homemade pies. From the crust to the filling, I can think of fewer foods that show as much love as a homemade pie. They don’t have to be beautiful – mine rarely are. Making them, sharing them, giving them away – that’s enough.

PieTurkey

2) Long voicemails. Robin Hood recently took an extended work-followed-by-hunting trip to Texas, and on his way home, he called me to chat. I couldn’t answer, but I found a voicemail waiting in which (on which?) my husband told a story of how he stopped at a roadside fruit stand, intending to buy some apples and pecans. Sadly, he didn’t have any cash, and it was a cash-only business. But since he was there, he started shooting the breeze with the owners, and lo and behold they wound up giving him apples and pecans. So, to the owners of that fruit stand, thank you, and I wish I could give you some of the pie that will happen as a result of your kindness. And thank you Robin Hood for the story.

3) Buddies…and their buddies. I’ve told you about our puppy, Ann, and I gain a new appreciation for her when Robin Hood goes out of town. She’s my buddy. She goes on the occasional run with me (she’s up to almost three miles!), she hangs out with me in the kitchen, she sometimes drives me crazy, but she’s good company. I love that her enthusiasm for playing is equaled by her enthusiasm for relaxing. And I love that SHE has a buddy – a stuffed dog we call Cuddle Pup, who originally was equipped with a “heart” that we activated at night so Ann could be comforted by it. Ann doesn’t need that fake heart anymore, but Cuddle Pup is still her favorite toy, and this just makes me happy.

AnnTurkey

4) Quickly-melting snow. We’ve had one snowfall so far in Albuquerque, and the snow was gone 48 hours after it arrived. Our snow usually lasts just long enough for us to appreciate its prettiness and play in it, but not long enough for us to resent it, and for that I’m thankful.

5) Photo cards + annual holiday newsletters. I dig sending photo cards at Christmas time, but I also love my dad’s annual family newsletter. So I’m doing both, and hopefully I can maintain it for years to come.

6) Running. Even though the shorter days make running more of a challenge this time of year, I wouldn’t give it up for anything. Being out in the fresh air just makes life better.

7) Friends. Robin Hood decided to give ourselves a break and spend Thanksgiving here in Albuquerque this year, and our friends Meghann and Jay were kind enough to invite us over to a get-together at their place. I have no doubt that it will be a fantastic time, and I can’t wait.

I wish you all full bellies and full hearts today!

2 thoughts on “What Are You Thankful For?

Leave a Reply

