Albuquerque · Running

Feelin’ Cloudy

It’s been a cloudy week. Clouds bring dreariness, drowsiness, and after the sad passing of Robin Williams and Lauren Bacall, the clouds have instilled in me a deliciously tempting desire to curl up on the couch and watch Mrs. Doubtfire, To Have and Have Not, and whatever other movies starring those two exceptionally talented actors that I can find on Netflix. There’s the minor hitch that I haven’t yet learned how to operate the TV in my new home, but that’s a story for another day.

One thing I will say about clouds, though, or at least Albuquerque’s recent ones: they bring rain. And rain brings cooler weather. And something about cooler weather — not wintry cool, but heavenly, refreshing summertime cool — makes life a little easier to deal with. Especially when change is afoot.

This is an ambiguous time of year. On the one hand, school has started up again. The back-to-school vibe has nudged the vacation vibe out of the way, and rush hour has an extra dash of, well, dash. Morning hot air balloon sightings are becoming more frequent, Robin Hood is getting ready to go hunting again, and the aroma of the first crop of green chile roasting has slowly begun to drift around town.

On the other hand, hey, it is still [technically] summer! There will be more hot days. There is still camping to be done. And I don’t know about your gardens, but my peppers and squash are not nearly finished yet. Heck, we haven’t even had our big Labor Day wine festival, much less the state fair!

I am not ready to let go of the season yet.

One seasonal-type change that I am okay with is the change my running is undergoing. For most of the summer, it has had kind of a “hang in there and just do it” air about it. From my attempt at a Juneathon, to dealing with a minor injury, to traveling, and finally moving, running has been present in my life (thank God) but it has been, to put it mildly, unfocused.

That’s changing.

On Labor Day Weekend, I’ll be running the Creede Mountain Run in Colorado with my sister. I’ve run it once before and there’s not much you can fake when you’re running 12 miles on a mountain road, so I’ve been running more consistently and getting back to doing weekend long runs. I ran roughly 9 miles last weekend and it felt, much to my surprise, really good. I might just finish that mountain run in one piece!

Two weeks after that, I’ll be running Albuquerque’s Chips and Salsa 10k with some friends, which will be tons of fun, especially if they hand out burritos at the finish line like they did last year. And after the Chips and Salsa? I have no idea. All I know is that it feels good to be tip-toeing back into the groove of training and having at least a hint of a routine.

Hmmm. Maybe I’m more ready for change than I thought.

4 thoughts on “Feelin’ Cloudy

  1. There has been a little fall coolness in the air where I am as well, and it feels amazing. I have never watched Dead Poets Society, so I think I have to put that one on the list. But Mrs Doubtfire was a childhood favorite. Good luck on your mountain run. That is sure to be a calf burner!

  2. You guys are going to do Creede! As a runner, I’m impressed – but as a lawyer, I think you might have rebutted the presumption of sanity. That is one tough run! Anyway, good for you and your sister and good luck! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

