Running · Sports

Doors

After almost three weeks’ separation from yoga, I returned to the studio with some trepidation. Luckily, though, my first class back went okay, and my body, finally soreness-free after my half marathon, appreciated the re-awakening.

 

“You have to release the bad stuff to be able to accept the good,” said Katie, the instructor. I liked that. As her words filtered through the sweat and through my concentration on sucking in my tummy, I was reminded of the saying, “When one door closes, another opens.”

 

What would happen if, instead of all these doors opening and closing, we just have one door that stays open? The good would breeze in; the bad would drift out. Nothing would be absolutely closed, shut off, never to be attained again. I know, closure can be helpful and sometimes even vital. But in my life, at least, I’ve noticed lately that seemingly closed doors aren’t closed very securely, or even closed at all. They’re more like those swinging saloon-style doors.

 

I don’t see this as a bad thing.

 

My friend and co-worker of five years, Cherise, left our office last week for greener pastures at another job. Now that felt like a door swinging shut. In the years we’ve worked together, she’s become one of my best friends, and I’m going to hugely miss having her within paper clip-throwing distance eight hours a day. But it’s a comfort knowing that the door can swing right back open – she still lives nearby, so we can get together now without the stress and mental exhaustion of work. Kinda nice, actually.

 

Doors swing in my running life, too – namely, the Boston Marathon. I ran it in 2005 and 2006, and felt content to leave it at that for a while. Sometime in the last few months, though…the itch returned. I don’t know if it was learning that marathon studs Kara Goucher and Shalane Flanagan will be there, or my dad mentioning it at a family gathering (he loves Marathon Monday). Maybe it was knowing that I ran my as-yet-unbroken marathon PR at Boston. At any rate, I found myself circling September 10 on my calendar and arranging to take that morning off from work.

 

Rational judgment, and several friends, told me firmly I would get in with no problem, given my qualifying time, the marathon’s new staggered registration system, the position of the moon, etc. Did that prevent me from being jumpier than a cottontail bunny come 8 a.m. Mountain Time that Monday?  *&%# No!! I hunched before my computer like a horse jockey, clicking Refresh…Refresh…until mercifully the registration page popped up. Even more mercifully, I successfully completed the process without anything crashing. But the stress wasn’t quite over; I had registered, but as the BAA sternly reminded me, my entry pended their verification of my qualifying time. A few slightly tense hours later, I finally got the acceptance email.

 

Exhale.

 

So the door to Ma Boston has swung open again.

 

Also on my list of swinging doors? My dinner last week with a friend I hadn’t seen in over a year (it was lovely) and my aforementioned return to a yoga routine. Add everything up, and you have a heckuva lot of door-swinging going on.

 

I’m enjoying the breeze.

4 thoughts on “Doors

  1. What a wonderful post, you are an inspirational, please keep in touch with me more…look forward to hearing from you……my quote of the day

    *September 28, 2012 an easy 16 mile meditative run,* *There is no difficulty that enough love will not conquer.No door that enough love will not open. No gulf that enough love will not bridge. No wall that enough love will not throw down.It makes no difference how deeply seated may be the trouble, How great the mistake, Sufficient realization of love will resolve it all. If only you could love enough, you would be the happiest and most powerful being in the universe.*

    *adeolude*.*blogspot.com……….follow me on FaceBook, Twitter and **Facebook page Ade the Vegan runner.** *

  2. Hi Shannon… Just started reading your blog and so far I love! I am trying to become more fit and am always looking for inspiration. I hope to one day be as passionate about running as you are…

Leave a Reply

