Running

Anniversary!

As of April 2, 2012, I have been publishing this blog for exactly one year! I guess I’m a teensy bit late to my own party. Oops. Oh well.

 

The year has flown by at a speed of about Macht 3. Is that even a speed?

 

Not much has changed, really. I still feel just as passionately about running as I did in my first Running Sunflower post, and I hope I always will. I still adore the smell of new running shoes. I live in the same place, with the same job, and many of the same friends, although I’ve been fortunate enough to pick up several new ones since then. The romance radar has seen a couple of blips, but no big changes there.

 

Well, there’s something to be said for consistency, right?

 

I’d say the biggest change has happened right here, on these pages.

 

I’ll be honest, I can’t remember the exact thing that provided the definitive nudge to get me started blogging. I may have been scrambling around for a distraction from a then-recent break-up. My friend Hillary may have planted the idea during a cruise we went on. Then again, my parents have always been supportive of my writing – maybe it was something they said?

 

At any rate, the first time I put pen to paper for this blog (I still enjoy physically writing at least some of my drafts), I didn’t really know what direction this project would take. Heck, frankly, I still don’t. My only real aim at the time was for consistency, the same as with starting any new project or hobby. First you have to make a habit of it; worry about fine-tuning after that.

 

Audience was another factor. My initial targets, willing or not, were family and friends. I did want to share my writing with more people, but it took months before I got the guts to poke my head out of the proverbial prairie dog hole and seek out other bloggers.

 

Enter the phenomenal universe that we call WordPress.

 

To all my fellow bloggers, THANK YOU. Thank you, thank you. Thank you for following my blog, for clicking “like” on its posts, and for your comments. I know I don’t respond to comments very often. I apologize. But please know that I read and appreciate each and every one of them. Thank you also for the blogs you write. Since joining the WordPress community, I’ve gained insight, amusement, and a whole lot of just plain good reading about running, cooking, traveling, and generally living with purpose. You guys make me (I know this is getting sappy, but bear with me) a better writer and a more inspired person.

 

So I’m going to keep at it. And, since Easter is a time to make and renew promises, I’m kicking off the second year of Running Sunflower with a couple of promises to you:

 

1)      I will stay consistent with writing. If I skip posts, there will be good reason.

2)      I will never call you “my dears.”

3)      I will continue to read other people’s blogs. After all, if we bloggers don’t support each other, who will?

 

Happy Easter, everyone! And a huge thank you to all Running Sunflower readers, whether just stopping by or regular visitors. Here’s to the future.

 

21 thoughts on “Anniversary!

  1. Whatever your reasons for starting, I’m glad you did. I enjoy your writing, and share your passion for running. Here’s to a great year 2!

  2. My dear, I think I can speak for many of our relatives in saying we enjoy reading your blog and keeping up with your activities electronically. You have relatives in Ohio who enjoy reading your exploits… even though we’re not running anywhere but life’s treadmill!!

    Love ya, your favorite aunt.

  3. When you first started writing, your dad would forward your e.mails to me. I told him how much I loved them and he sent me the link to your blog. I have been following you for a year and look forward to each one. You have an amazing way of writing and could make a career out of it! Keep up the great work.
    Your dad’s cousin, Jan, from El Paso 🙂

  4. Happy Anniversary! I enjoy reading your posts and look forward to many, many more. I too love the smell (and FEEL) of new running shoes! I will be thinking of you on my run this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

