Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

Grumpectomy

The windy season has arrived in Albuquerque with gleeful pugnacity.

Between that and a particularly long day at work, my mood at the beginning of a recent run…and in the middle of it…and a mile from the end…was full-on grumpy. I was tired; the wind wouldn’t quit; my pool of ideas for what to do with wind-blown snot was severely depleted; and I still had two days to go before the weekend. Taking quarter at Taco Bell and stuffing my face with chalupas was sounding better and better.

I needed a grumpectomy: a neat, clean removal of the grump.

To that end, I came up with a list of things that have lately plastered all kinds of happiness on my heart:

Opening Day of Major League Baseball: It’s baseball season! I may not be among those who think that Spring doesn’t officially start until the first pitch is thrown, but you can bet I wore my Colorado Rockies colors on Monday. No matter that they lost their first game. I’ll be cheering on Carlos Gonzalez, Troy Tulowitzki and the boys all season long. And if I don’t make it to Coors Field for a game this year, I can at least be thankful for Albuquerque’s Triple-A team, the Isotopes. I can taste the hot dogs already.

My Grandmother’s 89th Birthday: Needless to say, an occasion to celebrate. My grandma is a magnificent lady. It seems like last week that she was walking me to the school bus stop, teaching me how to play my first card games, and making brownies with me. She is still one of the spunkiest people I know, and if some day I have half the great stories to tell that she does, I’ll consider myself lucky. Grandma, if you read this (and I know you will), have a glass of something tasty right now!

Playing Outside: Despite the wind, the weather is getting warm enough so that, at least in ABQ, layers upon layers of clothing are no longer required for outdoor activities. To revel in this, Robin Hood and I went hiking on Sunday and had a splendid time exploring one of the local canyons. The trails were busy with folks shaking off the winter blahs, the scenery was pretty, and we had ample snacks. Win!

Archery: Who doesn’t like to play with bows and arrows? The Sandia Crest Bowhunters Association (SCBA) is starting their shoots back up. Since Robin Hood is a Range Captain (meaning he helps set up & take down targets, among lots of other helpful things) he’ll be out at the range pretty often this year, and I intend to be there with him as much as I can. Last weekend we went to an “open house” (read: free) shoot, where we roamed the course, slung arrows to our hearts’ content, and even managed once to get bulls-eyes on the same target! Fingers crossed that my archery luck lingers a while.

Running, in general. Because many people don’t have this, or think they can’t have this. And because in just a couple of weeks, I’ll be in Boston for what is sure to be one memorable marathon weekend.

And what do you know? My grumpiness was alleviated.

What are your favorite ways to brighten up a snarly day?

LynxBullseye

Comments on: "Grumpectomy" (13)

  1. Running does wonders for mental and physical health. I’ll see you in Boston, or maybe Hopkinton! Enjoy the taper.
    Andy

  2. Awe, your grandmothers birthday!! So cute!! ;) I love grandparents!! XOXO!!
    I’m glad you’re feeling better and happier! That’s great to hear!! Sounds like you have a list of wonderful things that make you happy! That’s always good!
    When I’m not feeling the best, exercise makes me happy and sometimes shopping!! ;)

  3. Getting outside almost always chases my blues away – I also do this outdoor scavenger hunt called geocaching which gets me outside, exploring new places.

  4. This will get you really fired up for your Boston Marathon assault Shannon…………………….. http://runnersbreakfast.com/2014/04/03/beautiful-run-run-run-music-video-to-benefit-boston/

  5. You have an amazing area to run! Minus the lovely sandy wind of course. Fresh air and outdoors is always a greatway to alleviate the grumps!

  6. Running is definitely up there on my list too! Also, cooking.

  7. I love that term: grumpectomy! Pefect! lol!
    Running, reading, and spending time with my family lift my spirits–and alone time with my husband is always a plus since it’s a rarity now with our two young ones :)

  8. Happy bday gma! Good thing you killed that scary looking animal! ;)

  9. “grumpectomy” great phrase, will have to use this (if you don’t mind) My wife Sharon would say archery or running clears her head. For me shooting in a wood on my own listening to the sounds and breathing the air does it for me. Or if in doors watching a really good game of rugby with Wales winning of course.
    Great post and please wish your Gran a happy birthday from us.

  10. Reblogged this on My Archery Experiences and commented:
    I love this phrase “grumpectomy” and will have to try and use it

  11. For me it’s yoga with heart openers! Open the heart and the grumpiness can’t help but go away :)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,187 other followers

