Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

Storing

I took a nap after work on Monday. I won’t say I “indulged” in a nap, because that’s not accurate. My body wasn’t giving me a choice. I didn’t indulge; I obeyed an order. And, may I say, it was delicious. No other word could properly describe it.

Last Saturday morning, I watched TV for two or three hours. Thoughts of productivity and self-imposed obligations occasionally tried to nudge their way into my consciousness. I gave those thoughts a courtesy nod, and then let them pass.

Finally, for the last few days I’ve taken a hiatus from running. With two recent back-to-back half marathons under my belt (under my running shoes?), the start of marathon training just over two months away, no scheduled races in my immediate future, and mutterings from my vulnerable-to-overuse body parts, I know that now is as good a time as any. I still have plenty of lovely autumnal running days to enjoy when I get back to it, and this way, I won’t dive into marathon training feeling…*shudder*…burned out.

What’s my point in all this? No, it’s not to encourage laziness or chronic procrastination (for the record, after my leisurely Saturday morning, that afternoon I went for a run, cleaned my bathrooms, and went grocery shopping). I prefer to think of what I’m doing and promoting here as storing.

The animal kingdom is on to something. Look at the squirrels this time of year, with cheeks full of acorns, intent on storing them for winter. Look at the bears, munching whatever they can in order to store body fat. Look at the deer, carefully organizing hidden stashes of pilfered garden plants. Just kidding. I hope.

It’s all about storage. And while we humans may not physically need to fervently collect food, or line nests snugly, or eat non-stop to prepare for what’s ahead, there are nonetheless times when we hover at the brink of a challenge. In these moments, when we sit just up-river from a long tricky stretch of proverbial rapids, it’s beneficial – maybe even crucial – to pause and store up. Store up on energy. Store up on patience. Store up on faith. Store up on generosity, so that we can willingly and readily share what we store with others when we’re paddling through the thick of those rapids.

This weekend is the start of Albuquerque’s International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta. I am excited!! I’ll be crewing again for my friend Charity (she’s a balloon pilot; visit her blog here) and I’ll be bringing Robin Hood along for his very first up-close-and-personal, behind-the-scenes hot air balloon experience. Plus, the sight of hundreds of balloons filling the sky all the way to the horizon? Tough to beat.

However, with guaranteed early mornings and late nights, the weekend will require stamina. On top of that, at work we are rolling into one of our busiest periods of the year, so that, too, will require stamina. And after that ends, it’s time to start gearing up for holidays and lots of travel and…you get the idea.

Darn right I’m storing up.

If we take the time to store up, whatever we’re preparing for, whatever challenge lies just down-river, will be that much easier to handle.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some acorns to find.

Comments on: "Storing" (7)

  1. Great post…well said!

  2. I am SO jealous of you going to the balloon festival out there! I’ve wanted to see that since I was a tiny little tike and my father told me about it. I will make it out there one day. Great post! I am not very good at storing… I would be the starving squirrel and cold bear.

  3. I keep trying to store wine, but it keeps disappearing.

  4. Trails and Ultras said:

    I must take naps at least three times a week. I really believe that sleep is as important as nutrition and that if you’ve been training hard the your body needs sleep in order to repair and for recovery. I know if I haven’t been sleeping well I’ll pick up every cold and bug going!

  5. Oh, I really love napping. Totally agree with you, and with the last noter. Sleep is hugely important.

  6. Great post! I’ve definitely felt burned when starting training! Maybe more naps are in my future!
    http://Www.thegirlwhoraneverwhere.com

  7. So wise to listen to your body and indulge for now.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers

